Tag Archives for " SEO "

The 2016 Digital Marketing Recap: The Marketing Drive ep22

What happened in the world of Digital Marketing in 2016? How did Google, Facebook, Twitter and the general state of social media evolve? Here’s what we need to keep top of mind as Digital Marketers going into 2017.

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Internet Marketing Minute – XML Sitemaps

The Internet Marketing Minute

The Internet Marketing Minute

In today’s episode of the Marketing (almost) Minute I’m looking at the importance of a correctly formatted and updated XML sitemap. Often times this is poorly implemented on a site.

There are a number of “optional” tags meaning you can get away without implementing them but I strongly recommend you make sure you are implementing a full URLSet.

Keep in mind that if you are running a dynamically generated site, this becomes even more important. In order to keep up with the changes on your site you’re going to want to get the Google Sitemap Generator and install it on your server. More details in the podcast. Click the image below to Play the podcast.

Note: This is a pretty “grass roots” podcast 🙂 In time it will become more refined but for the time being keep in mind my main motivation for doing this is to give out some good tips that you might not find everywhere else in the universe. I’m refining the links I place in the podcast itself as clicking them will take you away from the site. For now these are the links in the podcast:

Sitemaps XML Format

Third Party Sitemap Generators

Google Server Side Sitemap Generator

Here’s the example for the suggested format:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<urlset xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9">

   <url>

      <loc>http://www.example.com/</loc>

      <lastmod>2005-01-01</lastmod>

      <changefreq>monthly</changefreq>

      <priority>0.8</priority>

   </url>

</urlset>

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Internet Marketing Minute Podcast

The Internet Marketing Minute Well I’ve finally decided to get things in gear with my Internet Marketing Podcast. I’m thinking of the following format:

  1. Limited to (around) 1 minute each and every day. This makes it manageable for me personally as I’m swamped with both Honeypot Marketing and Natural Traction.
  2. Low production value. I’m not going to spend hours tweaking intros and outros – I’m not really a radio guy in fact. I’m thinking you want the information in the minute not a minute of music.
  3. Highlight one strategy each and every day. This is will be a focused podcast not one about last great conference I went to and how I met up with Matt Cutts and we got drunk. There are enough podcasts like that.
  4. Stay out of SEO rambling debates and debates among arrogant designers who think there is no value in SEO or Internet Marketing.

Now I am thinking one thing here. Since I have years of online gambling marketing and sportsbook internet marketing experience I could focus on that here and then do a more general podcast on Honeypot Marketing. I’m actually thinking of leaving it up to you all out there.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? Basically it comes down to a niche podcast versus a generic podcast. I’m thinking out loud and need some input.

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

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SEO Return On Investment

I am pretty active on LinkedIn and have been for quite some time. I really do my best to try to answer one question per week and participate heavily in that community. It’s a good way to connect with others, make contacts and also use it as a sounding board for input to my ideas and thoughts on SEO, Search Marketing, Internet Marketing and what I do for a living both with Honeypot Marketing and with my own projects.

I figure since I am posting there I should also share some that with this audience. So the question that was posed from LinkedIn was this:

“How can you calculate the ROI of further SEO Investments for online project? Is there a model that can be used?“

That is a darned fine question since typical ROI models do not stand up well when it comes to SEO and Organic Search for a couple of reasons:

  1. Investments are indirect. You invest in link programs, content etc and it doesn’t directly drive traffic. The engines drive the traffic but the investments are there to help increase your authority in those engines. It confuses alot of people as to the logic.
  2. Most companies fall flat in terms of customer acquisition models. They are not correctly tracking a converted visitor from search, which makes it impossible to optimize your converting terms from the engines. I have seen many instances where terms which you wopuld not think are big converters in fact are massive converters (especially in tail of search). If you dont know this information then throw out your ROI model, you’ll be guessing anyhow – you could lie I suppose but then again that would be even worse and since SEO’s never ever lie (I’m ducking from the lightening!) that would never be a problem. :mrgreen:

Given those two factors I’ve come up with a fairly decent model that I find works and here for your viewing pleasure is the overview. If you disagree with me or if you think I’m wrong then register and comment or email me.

One of the key things to consider is that calculating ROI on Organic Search is different than traditional media. Here is the layout I utilize:

A Total Amount of Search Traffic
B Total Amount of Converting Search
C Conversion Rate from Search
C Life Time Value of a Conversion (is it CPA or LTV)
D Converting Terms (focus on these)

Determine total Search Traffic = 1000
Determine the Converting Search Ratio: B/A (10/100) = 0.10
Use the Total Converting Search Numbers = 100
Determine the value of the Conversion: C = $200

You have profited $20,000 from organic search.

Total current budget : Link Building $1500 per month plus other monies spent (I am not sure what these are)/

[poll id=”4″]

Your profit of $20,000 from all search engine optimization programs is being generated by $1500 of spend to acquire 200 customers. Your cost per customer is $7.50

Your spend is generating a 13:1 profit to cost ratio. Now you know your budget to work with and you can shift your overall tactics to increase the overall number search joins as you wish.

I’ve used this model (with much more detail) successfully in the past on numerous projects in the online gambling industry including online sportsbooks, casinos, generic ecommerce sites, online dating, lead generation and ebook marketing industries. It provides for a strong ROI model, justifies SEO budgets and keeps the business people happy since they understand what the goals of the program really are.

I would love to get your input, comments and suggestions on expanding the ROI model for Search Engine Optimization. Please comment below and let know, even if you think I’m completely wrong!

Cheers,

Dan

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dofollow Blog

Just thought I would let you all know that I’ve made this blog do follow. Now remember – real comments only please but they will pass link authority.

As I am going through this resurrection of my site I’ve had the opportunity to rethink a few thinks in terms of categories, tags, URL structure, Sub Domain structure and in particular making all comments DoFollow.

[poll id=”2″]

Having said that I installed the DoFollow plugin yesterday for a few reasons:

  1. It will incite comments – hopefully relevant comments.
  2. I want to pass link authority for those who I want to link to from this site.
  3. Defaulting as NoFollow is really the backward way to do it. WordPress by default adds the No Follow attribute, although I understand why the need for NoFollow by default.

Having said that I am curious. Is your blog a DoFollow blog?

Update:

Over the pas months I’ve had excellent success in building online reputation through Do Follow blogs.  Here is a fantastic list from Squidoo of categorized list of Do Follow blogs.

I’ll be updating this page with more Do Follow resources.

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